Poorhouse International: Catalogue results

TITLE: Franz Weiser-Möst: From Richard Strauss to George Walker
Director: Habib Azar

Genre: concert

Format: HD

Composer: Richard Strauss, George Walker

Contributors: Franz Weiser Möst, The Cleveland Orchestra

Company: Lumahai Productions, The Cleveland Orchestra

Runtime: 79' minutes.

ID: 464.




In a programme showcasing the breadth and variety of 20 th century music, Franz Welser-Möst leads The Cleveland Orchestra and Soprano Latonia Moore in George Walker´s Lilacs (1995) as well as an extended suite from Richard Strauss´ Der Rosenkavalier (1911) compiled by the conductor himself. This episode of In Focus will examine Welser-Möst´s long-standing connection to the music of Strauss and provide an indepth look into George Walker, the first African-American composer to receive a Pulitzer Prize in 1996 for Lilacs.